January 17th, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
WILDE IN LOVEWILDE IN LOVE
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
RANGER PROTECTOR

Reviewer Application

Readers & 'ritas


New Year, New Books to love in January

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Someone in London is cooking up murder …


slideshow image
How much would you risk to turn your life around?


slideshow image
RT TOP PICK! What if your prime suspects in a hefty art theft are two men you simply can't resist?


slideshow image
In Nashville the music is louder, the dreams are bigger, and love can bring a cowboy to his knees.


slideshow image
A broken promise, a terrifying legacy


Drone Warrior
Brett Velicovich, Christopher S. Stewart

An Elite Soldier's Inside Account of the Hunt for America's Most Dangerous Enemies

Dey Street Books
July 2017
On Sale: June 27, 2017
336 pages
ISBN: 0062693913
EAN: 9780062693914
Kindle: B01MSAEAWZ
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Non-Fiction History

A former special operations member takes us inside America’s covert drone war in this headline-making, never-before-told account for fans of Zero Dark Thirty and Lone Survivor, told by a Pulitzer Prize-winning Wall Street Journal writer and filled with eye-opening and sure to be controversial details.

For nearly a decade Brett Velicovich was at the center of America’s new warfare: using unmanned aerial vehicles—drones—to take down the world’s deadliest terrorists across the globe. One of an elite handful in the entire military with the authority to select targets and issue death orders, he worked in concert with the full human and technological network of American intelligence—assets, analysts, spies, informants—and the military’s elite operatives, to stalk, capture, and eliminate high value targets in al-Qaeda and ISIS.

In this remarkable book, co-written with journalist Christopher S. Stewart, Velicovich offers unprecedented perspective on the remarkably complex nature of drone operations and the rigorous and wrenching decisions behind them. In intimate gripping detail, he shares insider, action-packed stories of the most coordinated, advanced, and secret missions that neutralized terrorists, preserved the lives of US and international warriors across the globe, and saved countless innocents in the hottest conflict zones today.

Drone Warrior also chronicles the US military’s evolution in the past decade and the technology driving it. Velicovich considers the future it foretells, and speaks candidly on the physical and psychological toll it exacts, including the impact on his own life. He reminds us that while these machines can kill, they can also be used productively to improve and preserve life, including protecting endangered species, work he is engaged in today.

Joining warfare classics such as American Sniper, Lone Survivor, and No Easy Day, Drone Warrior is the definitive account of our nation’s capacity and capability for war in the modern age.

Media Buzz

CBS This Morning - June 27, 2017

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2018 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+