June 23rd, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
HER LAST GOODBYEHER LAST GOODBYE
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
LIGHTHOUSE BEACH

Reviewer Application

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Fall in love with June books!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Just when things are getting back to normal in Booktown, Tricia and Angelica have their lives turned upside down...


slideshow image
"A fantastic frenemies-to-forever love story" --RT Book Reviews


slideshow image
Blood might be thicker than water, but venom is stronger than just about anything...


slideshow image
Brant Wylder has planned for every eventuality. Becoming a father wasn't on his list.


slideshow image
A brand new spin-off from NY Times & USA Today bestselling romance series, The Billionaire's Obsession.


slideshow image
In another life there was love and war. From it, a single sin haunts one man.


The Girl in the Show
Anna Fields

For fans of Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Amy Schumer—and every other "funny woman"—comes a candid feminist comedy manifesto exploring the sisterhood between women's comedy and women's liberation.

Arcade
August 2017
On Sale: August 8, 2017
392 pages
ISBN: 1510718362
EAN: 9781510718364
Kindle: B01N7NJ4XP
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Non-Fiction | Humor

“I’m not funny at all. What I am is brave.” —Lucille Ball

From female pop culture powerhouses dominating the entertainment landscape to memoirs from today’s most vocal feminist comediennes shooting up the bestseller lists, women in comedy have never been more influential.

Marking this cultural shift, The Girl in the Show explores how comedy and feminism have grown hand in hand to give women a stronger voice in the ongoing fight for equality. From I Love Lucy to SNL to today’s rising cable and web series stars, Anna Fields's entertaining, thoughtful, and candid retrospective combines personal narratives with the historical, political, and cultural contexts of the feminist movement.

With interview subjects such as Abbi Jacobson, Molly Shannon, Mo Collins, and Lizz Winstead—as well as actresses, stand-up comics, writers, producers, and female comedy troupes—Fields shares true stories of wit and heroism from some of our most treasured (and underrepresented) artists. Creating a blueprint for the feminist comedians of tomorrow using lessons of the past, The Girl in the Show encourages readers to revel in—and rebel against—our collective ideas of "women's comedy."

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2018 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+