July 19th, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
Melinda LeighMelinda Leigh
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
ALL THE EVER AFTERS

Reviewer Application

New Books This Week

Latest Articles

Christmas in July


Summer Reads are HOT in July!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
This heavy hitter knows how to score


slideshow image
They took broken and made it art.


slideshow image
The Dark Protectors are Back!


slideshow image
Falling for your best friend is a dangerous game


slideshow image
Class is about to get interesting...


Stolen Beauty
Laurie Lico Albanese


Atria
February 2017
On Sale: February 7, 2017
310 pages
ISBN: 1501131982
EAN: 9781501131981
Kindle: B01HMXRYXI
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Historical

From the dawn of the twentieth century to the devastation of World War II, this exhilarating novel of love, war, art, and family gives voice to two extraordinary women and brings to life the true story behind the creation and near destruction of Gustav Klimt’s most remarkable paintings.

In the dazzling glitter of 1900 Vienna, Adele Bloch-Bauer—young, beautiful, brilliant, and Jewish—meets painter Gustav Klimt. Wealthy in everything but freedom, Adele embraces Klimt’s renegade genius as the two awaken to the erotic possibilities on the canvas and beyond. Though they enjoy a life where sex and art are just beginning to break through the façade of conventional society, the city is also exhibiting a disturbing increase in anti-Semitism, as political hatred foments in the shadows of Adele’s coffee house afternoons and cultural salons.

Nearly forty years later, Adele’s niece Maria Altmann is a newlywed when the Nazis invade Austria—and overnight, her beloved Vienna becomes a war zone. When her husband is arrested and her family is forced out of their home, Maria must summon the courage and resilience that is her aunt’s legacy if she is to survive and keep her family—and their history—alive.

Will Maria and her family escape the grip of Nazis’ grip? And what will become of the paintings that her aunt nearly sacrificed everything for?

Impeccably researched and a “must-read for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Paula McLain’s Circling the Sun” (Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author), Stolen Beauty intertwines the tales of two remarkable women across more than a hundred years. It juxtaposes passion and discovery against hatred and despair, and shines a light on our ability to love, to destroy, and above all, to endure.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2018 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+