June 20th, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
ROYAL TREATMENTROYAL TREATMENT
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
GUNSLINGERíS VOW

Reviewer Application

New Books This Week

Latest Articles


Fall in love with June books!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Just when things are getting back to normal in Booktown, Tricia and Angelica have their lives turned upside down...


slideshow image
"A fantastic frenemies-to-forever love story" --RT Book Reviews


slideshow image
Blood might be thicker than water, but venom is stronger than just about anything...


slideshow image
Brant Wylder has planned for every eventuality. Becoming a father wasn't on his list.


slideshow image
A brand new spin-off from NY Times & USA Today bestselling romance series, The Billionaire's Obsession.


slideshow image
In another life there was love and war. From it, a single sin haunts one man.


John The Pupil
David Flusfeder

Harper
March 2015
On Sale: March 3, 2015
Featuring: Brother Bernard; Brother Andrew; John the Pupil
240 pages
ISBN: 0062339184
EAN: 9780062339188
Kindle: 0062339184
Hardcover / e-Book
Add to Wish List

Historical | Fiction

Set in thirteenth-century Europe, against the backdrop of a medieval world where beauty and violence, science and mysticism, carnality and faith, exist side by side, this is a masterful, mystery-laden novel from the author of The Gift, in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Barry Unsworth, and Michel Faber.

Since he was a young boy, John has studied at the Franciscan monastery outside Oxford, under the tutelage of friar and magus Roger Bacon, an inventor, scientist, and polymath. In 1267, Bacon arranges for his young pupil to embark on a journey of penitence to Italy. But the pilgrimage is a guise to deliver scientific instruments and Baconís great opus to His Holiness, Pope Clement IV. Two companions will accompany John, both Franciscan friars: the handsome, sweet-tempered Brother Andrew, with whom everyone falls in love; and the more brutish Brother Bernard, with his secret compulsion for drawing imaginary monsters. Neither knows the true purpose of their expedition.

John the Pupil is a medieval road movie, recounting the journey taken from Oxford to Viterbo in 1267 by John and his two companions. Modeling themselves after Saint Francis, the trio treks by foot through Europe, preaching the gospel and begging for sustenance. In addition to fighting off ambushes from thieves hungry for the thing of power they are carrying, the holy trio are tried and tempted by all sorts of sins: ambition, pride, lustóand by the sheer hell and heaven of medieval life.

Erudite and earthy, horrifying, comic, humane, David Flusfederís extraordinary novel reveals to the reader a world very different and all too like the one we live in now.

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2018 off-the-edge.net  all rights reserved Privacy Policy

Google+ Google+