April 21st, 2018
Home | Log in! or Register

On Top Shelf
Melinda LeighMelinda Leigh
Fresh Fiction
Fresh Pick
Todays_Pick
SPARTAN HEART

Reviewer Application


Read some great books in April...you'll be blooming!

Slideshow image


Since your web browser does not support JavaScript, here is a non-JavaScript version of the image slideshow:

slideshow image
Not every match is made in the marriage mart...Some happen when you least expect it.


slideshow image
Contemporary romance set in Seattle's Pioneer Square.


slideshow image
MYSTERY PICK OF THE MONTH! –Library Journal (Starred Review)


slideshow image
Journey to an irresistible town you’ll want to return to over and over again.


slideshow image
She was the last woman he wanted in his life. . .and the one he needed the most.


slideshow image
Romantic Times says The Bride Next Door “is a laugh out-loud, play-on-words dramathon…”


slideshow image
Pursued by a dangerous terrorist, U.S. Deputy Marshal Casey Sloane, along with two other Marshals, put their lives on the line to deliver a federal witness to the FBI.


Weather's Greatest Mysteries Solved!
Randy Cerveny

Prometheus Books
July 2009
On Sale: June 23, 2009
328 pages
ISBN: 1591027209
EAN: 9781591027201
Hardcover
$26.98
Add to Wish List

Non-Fiction

Why did T-Rex become extinct? Why did the Mayan civilization disappear: If the ancient Israelis did indeed cross the Red Sea, as reported in the Bible, what weather phenomena might have produced the parting of the waters? Why was nearly all human life swept away 73,000 years ago? And what factors created the Great American Dust bowl of the 1930s? The extraordinary people who are interested in asking - and answering - such questions are known as climatologists. In a lively narrative full of intriguing facts, award-winning, internationally known climatologist Randy Cerveny takes the reader on a fascinating tour of some of the world's most perplexing and provocative climate mysteries, past and present. Cerveny explains the science of climate study - from digging ice cores in Antarctica to counting tree rings in Arizona - and the various specialists whose ingenious techniques help to sort out climate's intricate components. He also delves into the human impact of weather through fictional introductions to each chapter that depict how climate change might have affected a typical inhabitant of the ancient Sahara or Indus Valley, a peasant during Europe's 'Little Ice Age', or an aviation expert probing a deadly jet crash in New York City. Finally, he discusses research that attempts to forecast the weather of the next 10,000 years - essential information for planning the nuclear waste depository at Yucca Mountain, Nevada. For readers of "An Inconvenient Truth", devotees of the Weather Channel, history buffs, popular science fans, or anyone who wonders what makes our weather tick - and how it will impact our future, this engaging book offers much to ponder and to enjoy.

Media Buzz

Good Morning America - September 15, 2009

Comments

No comments posted.

Registered users may leave comments.
Log in or register now!

© 2003-2018 off-the-edge.net
all rights reserved

Google+ Google+