Beach Reads: YA Thriller Edition

Finding the perfect beach read is different for every person. Some prefer a nice swoony romance with lots of fluff, and others might prefer a sweeping historical drama to curl up with during vacation. I have a tendency to gravitate towards thrillers in the summer, and YA fiction is bursting with excellent, heart-pounding stories to keep you on your toes. From a missing mother to a liar at an elite school to a mysterious ‘accident,’ here are four YA thrillers that would make a great beach read. THE SAFEST LIES by Megan Miranda Fans of Jennifer Donnelly and E. Lockhart will be captivated by this YA psychological mystery about a girl who must face her darkest fears—but can she outrun the past? Kelsey has lived most of her life in a shadow of fear, raised to see danger everywhere. Her mother hasn’t set foot outside their front door in seventeen years, since she escaped from her kidnappers with nothing but her attacker’s baby growing inside her—Kelsey. Kelsey knows she’s supposed to keep a low profile and stay off the grid for their protection, but that plan is shattered when her dramatic car accident and rescue by volunteer firefighter and classmate…

Catching Up on Young Adult Series

Last year, I did a post on a few series with new books out, and it was so popular that I thought it was time for another. With so many great series in YA, keeping up with all of them is difficult. I can’t count the times I’ve read a first book and accidentally missed the sequel a year later, or even more common for me, missed the third or fourth book. This list is by no means exhaustive, but here are a few sequels, third books, and final books in series that have recently released. About THE SLEEPING PRINCE by Melinda Salisbury Ever since her brother Lief disappeared, Errin’s life has gone from bad to worse. Not only must she care for her sick mother, she has to scrape together rent money by selling illegal herbal cures. But none of that compares to the threat of the vengeful Sleeping Prince whom the Queen just awoke from his enchanted sleep. When her village is evacuated as part of the war against the Sleeping Prince, Errin is left desperate and homeless. The only person she can turn to is the mysterious Silas, a young man who buys deadly poisons from Errin,…

Young Adult Musings: Connections Across Time
Fresh Takes from the Teen Shelves / February 19, 2016

One of my favorite genres in YA is historical. With so many big historical figures being younger at the height of their fame and the rapid life progression in many historical societies (getting engaged/married younger, having kids early, etc.), the teen and young adult age is a perfect match for the protagonists. Beyond that, historical fiction offers a glimpse at a time period that present readers will never get to experience. Sometimes, historical fiction is our way of connecting to those lost to time and finding a shocking discovery that, though fashions, industries, and medical practices change, the emotions of living, the pain of loss, the excitement of new opportunities, the nervousness of a new relationship, are the same. Here are three recent historical YA releases that offer a chance to learn something about history, receive a lesson on life, and a reminder that the spirit of humanity connects us all through time. About ANNA AND THE SWALLOW MAN A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of The Book Thief. Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up….

A Time for Romance and Chocolate

There are many components I love finding in a book: adventure of some sort, strong friendships, great writing, and, often, a super swoony romance. February is one of the perfect times of the year to sink into a book with a good love story going on, whether the romance is the primary part of the book or a minor storyline. While I usually have neutral feelings on Valentine’s Day itself, I can’t deny a significant amount of happiness at seeing all the chocolate on sale. With winter still continuing in the background of the second month of the year, one could happily spend a Saturday curled up inside a warm house with a heartwarming romance and a box of chocolates. Here are a just a few options of newly released or soon to be released books featuring a powerful romance that might put you in a romantic mood. About THE SHADOW QUEEN A dark epic fantasy inspired by the tale of Snow White, from C. J. Redwine, the author of the Defiance series. Perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Cinder. Lorelai Diederich, crown princess and fugitive at large, has one mission: kill the wicked queen…

Young Adult Musings | Part 2: Most Anticipated 2016 Reads

The year has barely started, and I already can feel my wallet crying as I look at all the incredible books releasing this year. I read across most genres (fantasy, contemporary, horror, etc.), and it seems like this year will be stellar for all of them. I’m always on the fence about preordering and buying on or near release day. I know preorders can be wonderful for the author and for sales numbers, but I also love walking in to an independent bookstore and finding the new releases fresh on the shelf. After looking at the second part of my most anticipated reads of the year, I may find myself trying out a new-to-me compromise where I preorder from the bookstore to make sure I get them the day of release, but also pick them up at the store, so I get the satisfaction of another visit. Regardless, this is one incredible year for new books! About REBEL OF THE SANDS Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mythical beasts still roam the wild and remote areas, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinn still perform their magic. For humans, it’s an unforgiving place, especially if you’re poor, orphaned,…

Most Anticipated Young Adult Reads in 2016 (Part 1)

People look forward to the new year for all sorts of reasons: a chance to start over, a time to focus on resolutions and goals, and even an opportunity to splurge on a fancy new planner or calendar. For me, I find the most new year’s happiness when looking at all the incredible books expected to release that year. For 2016, the YA market has an abundance of exciting upcoming books to look forward to. From retellings that will spin the imagination to historicals that will make you wish for a time machine, here is Part 1 of my most anticipated 2016 young adult reads. About BLACKHEARTS In this stunningly creative debut, Nicole Castroman reimagines the origins of history’s most infamous pirate—Blackbeard—and tells the story of the girl who captured his heart and then broke it, setting him on a path to destruction. When Edward “Teach” Drummond, son of one of Bristol’s richest merchants, returns home from a year at sea, he finds his life in shambles. Betrothed to a girl he doesn’t love and sick of the high society he was born into, all Teach wants is to return to the vast ocean he calls home. There’s just one…

YA Musings – Part 2 of My Favorite YA Reads of 2015
Fresh Takes from the Teen Shelves / December 17, 2015

Hi everyone! I’m back with Part 2 of some of my favorite YA reads this year. I’m always so nervous about these lists because I undoubtedly find new favorites in the middle of writing them or immediately after, while we’re still in the same year. Just in the two weeks since Part 1, I’ve already found another book or two I love. As fun as these lists are, this is a solid reminder that even if you’ve already read these or don’t see any to your taste, other fabulous books are still waiting. HIT by Delilah S. Dawson About HIT Review In order to save her mother, a teen is forced to become an indentured assassin in this sizzling dystopian thriller. No one reads the fine print. The good news is that the USA is finally out of debt. The bad news is that we were bought out by Valor National Bank, and debtors are the new big game, thanks to a tricky little clause hidden deep in the fine print of a credit card application. Now, after a swift and silent takeover that leaves 9-1-1 calls going through to Valor voicemail, they’re unleashing a wave of anarchy across the…

Samantha Randolph | Favorite YA Reads of 2015

While I run when someone asks me what my favorite book is, I happily stand and talk if they ask what my favorite reads of the present calendar year are. Of course, even narrowing the books in a time span of 365 days is rough, but I love reflecting back on my year as a reader and remembering what books I enjoyed. 2015 has been a dynamite of a year for great reads, so this week’s column and next week’s will be devoted to highlighting some of my favorite YA books of 2015. From surprising unreliable narrators to small towns that won’t let go to humor and action at their best, here is part one of my most beloved 2015 books that I will likely reread many, many times in the years to come. BONE GAP by Laura Ruby About BONE GAP “Bone Gap marks Laura Ruby as one of fiction’s most original voices. She is capable of moving you to tears, terrifying you on deep and dreamlike levels, and making your heart shout with happiness. This book is magic realism at its most magical.” —E. Lockhart, author of We Were Liars BONE GAP is the story of Roza, a…

Entangled Teen 12 Days of Kick-ass Christmas

Happy Holidays Everyone! Join us in celebrating Entangled Teen’s 12 Days of Kick-ass Christmas Event! This event is going to be a blast! Our authors are joining together to share some exclusive content with you all! There will be 2 teams: The Smart-Ass Team will post a good or swoon-worthy deleted scene or an excerpt and The Bad-Ass Team will post a villainous deleted scene or excerpt. And the coolest part about this celebration of all things “Kick-Ass” is that the authors will be posting on each other’s blogs! The party starts on December 2nd and goes all the way to December 13th! We will wrap up the event with our monthly Twitter party on December 13th at 9 PM EST/6 PM PST. Each day of the Kick-Ass event will feature 2 posts from our amazing Entangled Teen Authors, along with an EPIC giveaway! So, “How do I join in?” you ask? It’s easy! Just follow along with the tour and find the hidden word (it will be highlighted) in each post, and then fill out the Rafflecopter form. “What can I win?” you ask. So many things. You can win one of 2 Kindles (each valued at $69, US…

Fresh Takes from Teen Shelves: Perfect Summer Reads

Summer contemporary reads, chilling thrillers and frothy romance lead off a heavy hitting line-up of most excellent vacation reads. Lots of paranormal, supernatural thrillers, and science fiction adventure round out the field. Enjoy! Contemporary, Triller and Romance (i.e., non-paranormal) THE MOON AND MORE by Sarah Dessen THE MOON AND MORE Dessen’s stories make great reads for summer or any time. Emaline has a perfect boyfriend. She and Luke have been together all through high school. Then in the summer before college she meets sophisticated, exciting Theo, a New Yorker assisting on a documentary film. Emaline begins to think she has bigger dreams than a small beach town can hold, but that means leaving her loving family and community. Emaline wants the moon and more, but how can she balance where she comes from with where she’s going? Contemporary, Romance (June 4; Viking Juvenile)   RULES OF SUMMER by Joanna Philbin RULES OF SUMMER Rory’s summer job might have landed her among the beautiful and rich of East Hampton, but she is strictly “staff.” But Isabel Rule, her employer’s youngest daughter, decides it’s a summer for taking chances, and she’s taking Rory along for the ride. But will Rory’s own summer…